Le projet "Black Lives Matter en éducation au Nouveau-Brunswick" se déroule sur le territoire traditionnel non cédé des Wolastokiyik. Notre objectif est de démanteler les systèmes d'oppression qui affectent les autochtones et les noirs au sein de la Confédération Wabanaki de manière disproportionnée.

hi-mary-louise-mccarthy.jpg

Ce projet est dédié à la Dre Mary Louise McCarthy-Brandt , qui continue de nous inspirer par son travail universitaire et communautaire crucial avec et pour les communautés noires du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Veuillez noter que les resources sont disponible en anglais seulement.

Le projet éducatif "Black Lives Matter" au Nouveau-Brunswick fut créé en 2020 et cherche à mettre en lumière l’omission de l’histoire des communautés et des expériences autant actuelles que passées des Noirs dans l’enseignement des sciences sociales au Nouveau-Brunswick. Le projet s’agit d’une collection de ressources progressives de la maternelle à la 12e année, qui vise à inclure les histoires et les expériences des Noirs dans les salles de classes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ce projet de recherche-action est né d'une collaboration entre Black Lives Matter-Fredericton et des membres de la faculté d'éducation de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, avec le soutien de la faculté d'éducation et du bureau d’apprentissage expérientiel de l'Université Saint Thomas. Pour en apprendre plus au sujet de notre site web, regardez cette courte vidéo. Veuillez noter que la vidéo est disponible en anglais seulement.

Image by visuals

BLACK LIVES MATTER
in
New Brunswick Education Project

The Black Lives Matter in New Brunswick Education Project takes place on unseeded and unsurrendered Wolastokiyik territory. It is our aim to work toward a common goal of dismantling systems of oppression that disproportionately affect Indigenous and Black people within the Wabanaki Confederacy.

At UNB BLM Education 2022, we’re ready for something better. Based in San Francisco, our transformative Social Movement mobilizes people from all over to take action and create a meaningful and lasting impact.

 
hi-mary-louise-mccarthy.webp

Dr. Mary Louise McCarthy-Brandt

This project is dedicated to Dr. Mary Louise McCarthy-Brandt, who continues to inspire us with her crucial academic and community-based work with and for Black communities in New Brunswick.

O U R - M O V E M E N T

The New Brunswick Black Lives Matter Education Project was formed in 2020, and seeks to address the erasures of past and present Black histories, communities, and experiences in New Brunswick Social Studies education. This is an evolving collection of K-12 resources that aim to bring Black histories and experiences into New Brunswick classrooms. This action research project was born out of a collaboration between Black Lives Matter-Fredericton and members of UNB’s Faculty of Education, with support from UNB's University Research Fund (2021) Saint Thomas University’s Faculty of Education and Office of Experiential Learning (2020).